The Gay Debate

Not surprisingly, the first Presidential debate solely on gay issues will be a Democrats-only affair. This has been brought to my attention by The Grit, who also predicts the candidate positions on these matters.

I wondering if there should be other Presidential debates based on other minority special interest groups. Any suggestions? The only one I’m sure no group of candidates will touch would be a white, heterosexual male debate.

Or on the other hand, there could just be a campaign based on those things we all have in common. You know, one where no one panders any whiny group convinced that it is somehow disenfranchised, whether by sexual proclivities, or gender, or race, or whatever.

17 Responses to The Gay Debate

  1. ChenZhen says:

    That’s a pretty good point. I guess I didn’t think of it that way.

  2. the Grit says:

    Hi David,

    Good point. Personally, my primary concern is over the need, possibly even the fundamental human right, for access to clean socks. If they have time, I’d also like to hear the candidates’ views on the importance of beer to our society, and what plans they have to lower its price.

    the Grit

  3. Considering the Dems have, individually, flip flopped on gay issues more than John Kerry on the war, I don’t think this will be a debate so much as a BS session. But take out the “debate” tag and yes, a lot of minorities get this. The blacks got it last week (two weeks?) at the NAACP convention. The Dems spoke one at a time instead of all at once. The Republicans do this to or do you forget how many of them went to the convention of the national association of religious broadcasters?

    If anything LOGO and HRC are getting short shrift because instead of one at a time for 2 hours they are getting all of them for that time, and instead of talking to anyone they will be bickering with each other.

    I do like the last point – appeal to our commonalities – but no party has done that since, ummmm… welll…. Nope… Not in my memory.

  4. Joe says:

    Wait, what’s the ‘good point’? I must have missed it…

  5. Dave says:

    If you mean ChenZhen, it could be the link back to his liberal blog. I don’t know. I just always leave any compliments. If you mean the Grit, I’m pretty sure he means the idea that we could have a campaign based on all the things we have in common. Of course ChenZhen could have meant that, too. But you know me, I always given Conservatives more benefit of the doubt.

  6. ChenZhen says:

    I meant it. Off the top of my head I couldn’t think of any previous presidential debate exclusively focusing on the plight of a minority group in this way. When Dave put it the way he did, i thought about it, and decided it was indeed very odd.

  7. Joe says:

    Ah ok. I just wasn’t sure which point you were referring to. It is an interesting observation.

    It seems like it would be a limited debate, though. I don’t think it has anything to do with a “special interest group”. I would guess it has more to do with the prominence that the gay marriage issue has been having in the last few years.

    A much more interesting debate would be what to do with Iraq now that we’ve messed it up.

  8. Dave says:

    Welcome back ChenZhen. Sorry if I offended you by second-guessing your motives.

    I think it has more to do with the militancy of gay rights movement generally, of which the gay marriage issue is just one development.

    The matter of Iraq is just a current foreign policy/military policy issue that would come up in the range of topics debated generally. Iraq is a here today, gone tomorrow (or in a few years) issue. The gay rights movement is about foundational moral issues affecting the permanent fabric of society.

    That doesn’t mean I support the presidential debate on gay issues. If the debate featured panellists as stridently opposed to gay rights as those promoting it, then it might be more of a debate. As it is, it is based upon the assumption that the tenets of the gay rights movement are an accepted standard for society and is merely testing the loyalty of Democratic candidates to that agenda. The goal is merely to find the most gay-friendly candidate.

  9. Joe says:

    It is amazing how you can see into the brains of the organizers.

  10. Dave says:

    It is, isn’t it?

    Considering that the debate is sponsored by the gay TV channel LOGO and the Human Rights Campaign, whose slogan is “Working for Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender Equal Rights”, figuring out the agenda of the organisers really was a no-brainer.

  11. ChenZhen says:

    Welcome back ChenZhen. Sorry if I offended you by second-guessing your motives.

    n/p Dave.

    BTW- I like your site so I added you to the blogroll, and soon onto the alliance page. I’m trying to get a good balance. Go ahead and add the button if you want to. If not, no biggie.

  12. Dave says:

    Thanks ChenZhen. I’ve added the button.

  13. Huw says:

    What would a “campaign based on those things we all have in common” look like? Do we have it in our system, as it is, to imagine such, let alone pull it off?

  14. Dave says:

    Perhaps not.

    What I’m primarily thinking of is various demographic groups that define themselves as a minority voting bloc and think that they have interests that must be protected at all costs.

  15. Huw says:

    And instead of you attacking the groups, I’m asking for a positive way out of it.

  16. Huw says:

    Actually… this event is up for critique in the community and, lo: it’s not even the first one. The same organisation hosted one in 2003, too.

  17. Dave says:

    Thanks for that link, Huw. That does clarify and correct a few things.

    As for attacking the groups, I’m not sure what you mean.

Leave a Reply

