Stringing Me Up

I stopped by a local music store this afternoon to purchase a guitar pick. It took the idea of Rip-off Britain to another level. A single Dunlop Tortex .60mm cost 80p ($1.60).

I’m sure there has been some inflation of plectrum prices since I left the States. The last price I remember paying for an identical pick was 45¢. May they are as much as 80¢ now and it is just another example of prices being the same figure in dollars as they are in pounds.

A set of 12-string strings starts at about £13 ($26). I found a set of Martin strings from an eBay shop in the States for $9.69 (£4.85) including international first class postage. The best price I found for the same thing from a British eBay shop was £7.70 ($15.40).

I looked at guitar prices and again I haven’t been in the market for a guitar for a long time, but I can’t imagine that some of the guitars I looked at were anywhere comparable to the price for the same instrument in the States. I played a Freshman cutaway six-string that had good action and an okay sound for £400. Surely this wasn’t an $800 guitar in the States. I would have said maybe $400, even though the body of it felt a bit plastic. Freshman assures me that it wasn’t, even though their guitars are made by cheap Southeast Asian labour and shipped to Scotland.

Music appears to be an expensive habit in this country.

2 Responses to Stringing Me Up

  1. Semi~Charmed says:

    I know how you feel about the prices of instruments and accessories. I was pricing saxophones and piccolos today and found the prices to be considerable. We already own a few and it’s been nearly 3 years since we have had to purchase an instrument and the prices are continuously rising. Music books and the like have risen in price too.

  2. Margi says:

    Everything here is a third or double the price it is in the US. It’s completely appalling. When I lived “down south” I knew folk who took their kids to France for a long weekend and came back with a new car and still saved money on buying the same car in Chelmsford or Brighton.

Leave a Reply

