Past My Mediocre Prime

I’ve been getting my guitar out for a few minutes over the last couple of day, limbering up the fingers for no particularly good reason. I had thought about taking it into school for the last week and maybe playing for some of my lessons. This worked well in one previous school, but given some of the groups I have right now, I sense the strong possibility of more than one Matthew 7:6 experience.

So I’ve just sat on the bed and played a few old tunes. I haven’t written anything new in years and years. After I was in Texas, I thought I would try to come up with a new worship number to send off to friends in Gonzales and to anyone else who might want it, but nothing has happened yet.

So I just strum away gently, mostly because I don’t even own a pick at the moment. Twenty years ago I wouldn’t have imagined the time when I was plectrum-free. But then I never would have imagine I would be where I am now.

For some reason, I browsed into the site of one the Christian music festivals happening around the UK this summer. They have links to the scheduled artists. I started at the bottom of the page and worked my way up. I clicked on one acoustic artist and listened to some of the stuff on her website. I was not impressed and thought maybe I’m not as bad as I always imagine (and usually confirm when I listen to old tapes) if she’s playing at that festival. Then I listened to a few more artists and bands and sure enough, I’m pretty crap by comparison.

Sometimes I think that if I could surround myself with some decent musicians, it might make some fairly decent songs sound fairly decent again. After all, I play some of my tunes and I can still hear The ad hoc Band in my head. I hear the drums and the lead guitar fills, rather than (or at least on top of) some sloppy rhythm work that reveals most of my 27 years of playing have been wasted.

But most of the time I think my day has passed and music is a young man’s game.

3 Responses to Past My Mediocre Prime

  1. D. Peace says:

    I played for many years, and then put my guitar away a couple years ago.

    Just over the past couple weeks, I’ve been becoming more enthused about guitar playing again, and I even bought a new acoustic.

    Man, I’m rusty. I was never fantastic to begin with, but I’m disappointed how much I’ve forgotten. Use it or lose it. I hope to re-learn everything and, this time, not take any time off from playing.

  2. Honey says:

    Wow! Your father is a young man at 75!

    He still plays and sings every day. leading worship.

    He started leading worship around age 45 and still ministers at home and abroad while pastoring a church.

    Maybe you just haven’t gotten started yet.

  3. handmaidmaryleah says:

    If music is a young man’s game, better tell the Stone’s and Eric Clapton to hang it up!

Leave a Reply

