Devolving Sea-Monkeys®

I looked at the ant farm on the window sill above the sink in kitchen and the blue goo had turned a bit yellow. The top of the goo looked a bit moldy. There was a distinct lack of Proverbs 30:25 activity.

The ants have died. Apparently this is old news. Mrs H said it happened ages ago.

But now we have Sea-Monkeys®. Again, that they have hatched is apparently old news, even though I only found out about it last night. I’m not sure why I’m not being apprised of all the life and death happening around our house.

Sea-Monkeys® are evidence against the theory of evolution. When I was young, Sea-Monkeys® could do amazing things. They went on picnics and played baseball games, had loving family relationship and I don’t remember what all else. They may still be called “The Amazing Live Sea-Monkeys®“, but current owners no longer make such claims.

Sea-Monkeys® now just swim about. I’ve seen for myself. Of course they are really, really small so I had to look with a magnifying glass, but as best I can tell, there were no recreational activities going on, unless you consider swimming a recreational activity.

The developers used to also claim that Sea-Monkeys® were not shrimp, but apparently they have devolved. They are now merely a species of brine shrimp.

I will keep an eye on them and let you know if they start doing any amazing things.

9 Responses to Devolving Sea-Monkeys®

  1. handmaidmaryleah says:

    I remember being amazingly disappointed by my sea-monkeys, big let down they were…
    Don’t know what I was thinking at age seven.
    M-L

  2. Margi says:

    I am confused. This is obviously one of those parent things.

  3. Dave says:

    I’m not sure if it is just a parent thing. Part of it may be that Sea-Monkeys were predominately an American phenomenon during my childhood. I never had them, but the ads for them were ubiquitous in children’s magazines. They also advertised on TV. This was also before the rules about truth in advertising were quite so tight.

  4. Philippa Alan says:

    I’m crushed to learn that these are NOT live sea monkeys! Just simply crushed!

  5. handmaidmaryleah says:

    I remember the advert for the sea monkeys on the back of the comics that I loved to read when I was little, mostly Richie Rich and the like, it showed them as a family in all their comic glory!
    They were a real nuclear family of sea monkeys! Here is a pic of the advert: http://galleryoftheabsurd.typepad.com/14/images/sea_monkeys_1.jpg
    I was so excited that these little brine shrimp alien comic creatures would come and live with me. Then they arrived and were invisible!
    Too funny, really.
    Here is a link to their site: http://www.sea-monkey.com/ and what sea monkeys look lke today
    Thanks David for bringing this back
    M-L

  6. Dave says:

    I browsed through their site before I posted the article. I also looked at the YouTube videos linked – especially the vintage ads. They are hilarious. I also recommend this short documentary.

  7. Joe says:

    Ah yes. I too was very disappointed in the reality of sea monkeys. I was prepared for the let down by my mother though. She explained they were little shrimp before I ever had any. But they were VERY little shrimp.

    Odd that you would choose this bit of nostalgia for a misguided jab at evolution though. Evolution does not specify an “arrow of progress” which a species must follow. A change in any “direction” that is selected an propagated is evolution.

  8. Dave says:

    Joe, if you stick around very long you will find that I can use just about anything for a jab at evolution or anything with which I don’t agree. Of course the only thing that evolved with regard to Sea-Monkeys® is advertising standards.

    I suppose if you define evolution as any kind of mutation whatsoever, then I believe in evolution. However I also believe that in a billion years Sea-Monkeys® will still not have picnics or play baseball.

  9. Joe says:

    That is not how I defined evolution. Evolution is the selection and propagation of those mutations through the generations, thus changing the genes of a species.

    I think that anything the size of a sea monkey exhibiting signs of intelligence would violate much of neurobiology.

Leave a Reply

