Reading and Writing

Apparently if you want to be a good fiction writer, you need to read fiction. I’m trying to read more and particularly American Civil War fiction, since I’m writing a story from that conflict.

I started with Widow of the South by Robert Hicks. In the airport waiting for the return flight from Texas I picked up Rebel : The Nathaniel Starbuck Chronicles: Book One by Bernard Cornwell. It cost $15.00. I am just over half-way through it and I started to wonder how much I would have to pay to get the second book in the series.

I was in Tesco the other night and I saw the third book of the series on the shelf. I dug through to try to find the second book. I couldn’t find it, so I asked at the service desk. They didn’t have individual titles in the stock database, but the customer service lady pulled out a drawer under the books there it was. In a small reversal of rip-off Britain it was £4. It’s mass market, so the print is smaller than the one I bought in Houston, but that’s why I have reading glasses. And I already know Tesco carries the third book.

Cornwell’s book is a lighter read than Hicks, but then Hicks took seven years to write his, and Cornwell has written 46 books in 25 years (Rebel was his 21st book in 1993). I really want mine to be more like Hicks’, with the main characters based of historical individuals and exploring the characters more deeply.

It’s just a matter having the time and opportunity to do the research.

One Response to Reading and Writing

Leave a Reply

