Tweaking

I’ve spent a little time tidying up around here. Thanks to developments with WordPress, I have rationalised my categories so they display the subcategory hierarchy. I’ve also added a tag cloud at the bottom of the right column.

I like the WordPress widgets. Its nice to have little bits and bobs to liven up the place.

7 Responses to Tweaking

  1. Margi says:

    I like WordPress but after all my moving and changing I don’t know if I should again. It’s post liturgy – my father is fed, my nieces are sewing patchwork and my godson is fixing my desktop computer (nine year olds are wonderful nowadays) so I am dealing with the should I/shouldn’t I move to WordPress problem.

  2. yucca says:

    dave,

    where is the tag cloud? I cant see it… also, how does one get one? if i have understood what it is, i wouldnt mind one…

  3. Dave says:

    Thanks for noticing, yucca! Somehow it had drop out of my active sidebar widgets. You should find it now just under the search box.

    You can get your own by dragging it from the widget pool into your Sidebar Arrangement.

  4. Steve says:

    I still haven’t moved my main blogs from blogger because I battle with WordPress widgets. Some show nothing at all. Some show code as well as what the codes is supposed to show.

    I like the idea of subcategories — how did you get that to work?

  5. Dave says:

    I don’t know what to say about the widgets, Steve. They seem to work for me, though I sometimes have to play with them a bit to get what I want or something close to it.

    If you open up the Categories widget, it gives you the option to show hierarchy. Then just edit your categories giving the ones you want a parent category. WP does the rest.

  6. Athanasia says:

    I’ve been thinking about switching to WordPress. Not being a computer guru, I’m afraid I’ll lose everything.

    Still thinking….

  7. Dave says:

    Athanasia,

    WordPress will import from other blogs and even if it didn’t work, it won’t do anything to your existing work so there’s no chance of losing anything.

Leave a Reply

