ad hoc Discovery

I’ve just come across an old cassette of a recording of my old band from Saturday, February 19, 1994. It was “unplugged” set because our drummer had another commitment that night.

Some of it is shockingly bad. On the other hand, some of it is quite good, especially for a band that had to struggle with the limits of my musicianship.

I heard songs I’d even forgotten that I had written. I have no idea how to even play them anymore. I was trying to imagine the chords in my head and some of them were there. I don’t know whether labouring over them for an extended time would re-establish pathways in my brain. I hate to lose them forever, even if I haven’t play some of them for nearly 13 years. The ad hoc Band dissolved in August 1994.

While digging in the same box, I also found a tape of the group in which our favourite areopagite served as drummer when I first met him 17 years ago. Their musicianship was better than the ad hoc Band, but then they weren’t burdened with a certain rhythm guitarist.

3 Responses to ad hoc Discovery

  1. gcw says:

    Wow. That was all so long, long ago. Feel free to burn it. I am appalled when I go back and listen to it what we were willing to settle for on the finished product. But then, we gave them away, so we weren’t burdened by the guilt of accepting money for them.

    The bass player is married and runs a karate studio in Arizona, the keyboard player is still playing in bands around Indy, the guitar player is no longer in ministry and is living up in Michigan, and last I saw him had put on a few pounds. I’ve been taking a well-deserved break from music for the past year or so, but will likely get back into things sometime this year as a percussionist.

    Life goes on.

  2. Dave says:

    At least you know what has become of the members of your band. I’ve lost track of all of mine.

  3. Larry Henry says:

    Dave, don’t put down Ad-Hoc. As one on the listening end, i found it quite good. Many of the songs touched me deeply. When my marriage fell apart those strains of “Won’t Sombody Dance With Me” that I remembered helped me to know i was not alone in my sorrow. You guys were OK.

    After Beracah you were my favorite; then Marty’s King of Hearts.

    It was a good time at the “Sonshine Inn”, one of the few places i have experienced real Christianity. I love you my Brother.
    Larry

Leave a Reply

