43

I guess I’ve pretty much reached my mid-40s. I suppose that if you divide the decade into two parts you could say that I’m in my early 40s, but if there’s a mid-40s then I’m in it, if not before, then as of today.

I don’t feel like I’m in my mid-40s. I don’t think of myself as middle-aged – nor does anyone older than me, because the older we get, the older middle age starts.

43 is really a rather non-descript birthday. From 30, the only ones that are really noticed are the decade markers until 60, after which every five years seems to be the point to stop and contemplate. I don’t know when 65 became the pension age. 70 is the completion of the three score and ten ennumerated in Psalm 90 (or 89, in the LXX). Everything after that is gravy, so 75 is the next milestone. Then come 80 and 85, though after you hit 90, each birthday is quite an accomplishment.

So this one is a quiet one. Not that I generally have wild raucous birthdays. When I turned 40 we had a quiet meal in a pub. It will pass on without much fanfare and with my 43rd year complete my 44th will pick right up and keep going. The sand in my hourglass will continue to run out a little faster and the completion of 44 will get here just bit quicker than did 43.

8 Responses to 43

  1. Grumpy Teacher says:

    Happy birthday.

  2. Deb says:

    Happy Birthday and many years! 1964 was a GREAT year! 😉

  3. the Grit says:

    Hi David,

    Many happy returns. I hit 50 this year, so I have some understanding of this ten spot. You should note that, from this point on, the annual checkup is a different animal. I just got the blood test results from my last one, and, surprise, another pill is on my menu. At least he didn’t go space alien on my ass this time 😉

    Oh, over here, 65 was fixed as the retirement age because it was slightly past the average life expectancy.

    the Grit

  4. fafu says:

    Happy Birthday!

    You can test the water for me since I get to hang on to 42 a little longer…

    Lord bless

  5. Honey says:

    “Set your love upon Him and with long life He will satisfy you.”..Psm. 91…I am well passed 43 and I can truly say, I am more productive today than at any other time in my life. Age and maturity are highly valued in the Kingdom of God. Happy birthday son. we are all late bloomers.

  6. Elizabeth says:

    Happy Birthday and Many Years !
    Chronia Polla !
    Mnogaya Leeta !

    1964 was indeed a good year 🙂

  7. Michael says:

    Many years! I’ll echo the sentiment that 1964 was a great year, as it was the year I was conceived! I’m coming up on 42 in less than two weeks. I agree that middle age is older than we are – my wife keeps on referring to us as “middle-aged” and I keep on balking at the thought.

  8. gcw says:

    Happy brithday, David. I’ll have a cold on on your behalf.

Leave a Reply

