Restoration

I’m glad to say that my Wikipedia article on “a band called David” has been restored.

I convinced the administrator who deleted it that they met the criteria of a “notable band”. I also Googled and found out what the original drummer Gene Gunnels is doing now.

As I have mentioned before, How the West Was One was one of the first contemporary Christian albums I owned. It still makes a regular spin in my car CD player, 28 years after bought the cassettes. For some reason, Gene’s work on the ride cymbal on the opening track “Hey Whatcha’ Say” during the lyric “Not in my life / Not in my life / Not in my life” and at the end of the song is still a foundational memory that I re-live each time I hear it. It is again the ride cymbal that comes at 13:50 on the Phil Keaggy song “Rejoice” that I always notice as the Keaggy/Souther duet fills out to a full band jam for the last two and a half minutes of the first disc.

Definitely notable music.

Leave a Reply

