Pick a Name, Any Name

I complete slept through the evening of my name day.

After teaching without a break yesterday, I had to chase some criminals so I didn’t get home from work until after 6:30. I made the mistake of having a pint of cider with my dinner and that’s all it took. I was snoozing until 3:00 am.

It was serendipitous that I was teaching my Year 11s about naming in Islam yesterday and discuss how the religious centrality to naming is not a uniquely Muslim thing. Not surprisingly, when I asked them what they would name their children and why, not a single one chose a saint’s name. I got a lot of TV characters, entertainers, and even a couple of comic/cartoon characters. Those were the serious attempts. I only got two instances of naming after family members.

When I asked them the derivation of their own names, there were a few more family connections, but not many, and of course no saints.

What do out naming conventions say about our society?

St David of Wales, pray to God for us!

3 Responses to Pick a Name, Any Name

  1. Erin says:

    Chasing criminals? Why?

  2. Dave says:

    They committed a hate crime and public order offense and I was trying to get a positive ID on them.

  3. Honey says:

    I think family names are an important way of bringing generational continuity and extention of the past into the future. A sense of significance come with a family name. I am glad you were not only named for two of your great grandfathers but carry both the last names of your mother and father.

Leave a Reply

