Go Look It Up

I was discussing the value of reading books to some of the Year 8s in my form.

I explained that I read a set of encyclopaedias when I was seven years old. One of the girls said, “What’s that?”

When I looked at the cost, it’s not surprising that no kids have heard of a set of encyclopaedias. A set of the 2007 World Book encyclopedia retails for $1,089.00.

The same thing on CD “with thousands of additional articles, plus more than 10,100 pictures and illustrations, two hours of videos and animations, over 77 CD-quality sounds, a database of more than 1,500 maps, and a high-performance search engine, all in one handy package” is $23.00. It takes up less shelf space and you can copy and paste into your school assignments.

With all that, I can’t imagine a kid ever having to use a 22-volume set of books. I know technology is great, but I find that a bit sad.

3 Responses to Go Look It Up

  1. DebD says:

    I know what you mean. I’ve been pining for an OED for years and my dh balks everytime I bring it up. I want the real, hold-it-in-my-hand thing. I think I’ll be pining for many years to come.

    Also, I bought a decent (albeit 20 yr old) set of WB for less than $100

  2. Philippa says:

    I’m glad I wasn’t the only one who used to read the encyclopedia. What a bunch of great stuff! I still enjoy flipping through pages of books like that.

    Costly items though! But there is nothing better than the smell of books.

  3. Mary says:

    Jack and I both also read the Encyclopedia as kids…in the pre-PC days.

Leave a Reply

