Seven Things

It’s been a long time since I’ve been tagged with a meme. I got this from Greg Wallace:

1. Name a book that you want to share so much that you keep giving away copies:

For the Life of the World by Fr Alexander Schmemann. This is the book that opened my understanding to sacramental theology and completely revolutionised the way I understand worship.

2. Name a piece of music that changed the way you listen to music:

Asleep in the Light by Keith Green. It was my introduction to contemporary Christian music and my introduction to music that encouraged action.

3. Name a film you can watch again and again without fatigue:

Apollo 13. I have only just gotten to where I don’t worry if they are going to make and can avoid crying at the end.

4. Name a performer for whom you suspend of all disbelief:

Tom Cruise. Only because in every film I never once remember that he is only four feet tall.

5. Name a work of art you’d like to live with:

The Arnolfini Portrait by Jan Van Eyck. It was the first piece we studied in my undergraduate class on the history of Christian art. I have seen it several times in the National Gallery in London. It was purchased by its present owners for £600, though that was a bit more money in 1842 than it is today. Still, a pretty good investment.

6. Name a work of fiction which has penetrated your real life:

Taliesin by Steve Lawhead. It is the first work of fiction that I remember causing me to feel drained but not tired when I finished it. It also sparked my interest in the Age of Saints in Britain, which has remained unabated to this day.

7. Name a punch line that always makes you laugh:

W-w-w-well, M-m-mister Ch-ch-charles, he was aw-aw-aw-already dead. M-m-m-miss Mar-mar-mary Louise, she see-see-seemed aw-aw-alright til me and J-j-j-junior turned her head around. This goes back to my childhood and is from a story my dad used to tell, especially to unsuspecting new friends.

To do one better than the seven topics, I’ve ambitiously tagging eight people: Elizabeth, Philippa, Michael (tempting him to take a hiatus from his hiatus), Deb, the young fogey, Huw, the Traditional Frog, and the Grumpy Teacher.

7 Responses to Seven Things

  1. Philippa says:

    I see I’ve been tagged! Oh! I’m off and running!

  2. Michael says:

    Ah, trying to test my resolve, are we! OK, I’ll give it a whirl, watch for my response one of these days.

  3. Elizabeth says:

    This is difficult !

  4. GrumpyTeacher1 says:

    Hmm…. I’ll have to get on that.

    BTW I like Lawhead too.

  5. Elizabeth says:

    Do we get to hear the whole story your dad used to tell ?
    Please ?!?

  6. The Traditional Frog says:

    Ah, yes! These were some very interesting, not to mention thought provoking questions.
    Please come round to my blog to see my answers!

  7. DebD says:

    Yikes. I just saw I’ve been tagged. I’ll try to work on it tonight.

Leave a Reply

