The Legacy of a Ragamuffin

Having finished the Keith Green series on YouTube, I found a six-part series of the film Homeless Man: The Restless Heart of Rich Mullins. In many ways, Rich picked up where Keith left off, with the same message of unreserved committment and Christianity with all the rough edges visible.

While I can’t find any of my Keith Green music and it may all be on old worn out cassettes in Texas (I’ve got to buy the Ministry Years CD sets), my CD of Rich Mullins’ Songs is always either in my car player or in my school laptop CD player. I often use it to bring peace to my day (that and copious use of the Jesus Prayer) and sometimes as background music in lessons where I have a group focused enough on learning that I can trust them with background music.

Rich might seem like the poster child of the Emerging Church movement, but at the same time he was blasting the evangelical church for missing the practical aspects of the Gospel, he was dabbling on the edges of Catholicism. His inspiration was St Francis of Assisi. It’s a big jump from Quaker to Catholic and he never quite got there, even if his Liturgy, Legacy and a Ragamuffin Band played a role in my own move to the ancient Church.

One Response to The Legacy of a Ragamuffin

  1. Michael says:

    It’s interesting to me, as a friendly outside observer of Orthodoxy, that certain individuals such as Rich Mullins & Keith Green not only command respect, but are even cited as influences towards Orthodoxy, even though they were never part of it themselves. Perhaps it simply shows that drawing ever closer to the LORD draws one ever closer also to all others who are drawing ever closer to the LORD. Just as many Lutherans, Catholics, Orthodox, Evangelicals, etc. (emergers too, I suppose) all see themselves in CS Lewis and like to claim him as being really “one of their own.”
    God will be God, and will imprint His image on those who draw near to Him, regardless of which “branch” or “twig” they’re hanging on to.

    As for Mullins seeming like “the poster child of the Emerging Church movement”, I think he was just succeeding by God’s grace at what the EM is trying less perfectly to do, which is to be relevant and authentic. Awhile ago I encountered the EM while perusing the web, and at first was somewhat fascinated, but quickly became disillusioned. Speaking as a country parson in a sparsely populated rural area (I call our ministry the “Surviving Church”), the trappings of the Emerging Church didn’t take too long to strike me as being trivially suburban and media-driven. I’ve largely withdrawn from mass media (excepting the web, which I spend way too much time with), and I’ve come to the conclusion that Christians could see the world in a whole new, timeless light just by not being so saturated in the media, including the Christian media (but excepting the good stuff like Green, Mullins, etc.)

    Be that as it may, I expect lots of emergers to eventually emerge in heaven along with all the other true Jesus followers.

Leave a Reply

