Diaconal Decade

It all seems so long age now.

Today is the 10th anniversary of my ordination to the diaconate. I enjoyed my time as Deacon Dave, even if the apostolic succession was faulty by the most generous Western standards. (This was somewhat rectified later.)

I’ve lost touch with the men with whom I was ordained, even though at the time I thought we would share some sort of special connection. I even forget to pray for them most of the time. Thank God for intercessors like St Nicholas, whose feast we share together.

May God grant many years to Fr Francis and Fr John.

5 Responses to Diaconal Decade

  1. Philippa says:

    For some reason, I didn’t know you were a Deacon.

    Many years!

  2. Davehttp://davidholford.blogspot.com/ says:

    It is a prerequisite for sacerdotal office.

  3. Elizabeth says:

    Do you think you might enter the Orthodox diaconate at some point ?

  4. Dave says:

    I forgot to reply to this. 😦

    I don’t see this as very likely. I’m just not a very holy man. I was a better deacon than priest, but still not what I would expect of someone entrusted with key aspects of the Liturgy. I don’t know that I should even be so close to the Holy Gifts serving unordained in the altar, though there hasn’t been a need for me to do that for some time.

    But Who knows.

  5. Anonymous says:

    Congratulations on your Decade. I am surprised it has only been ten years…time seems to have stretched strangely backward…

    Regarding the resumption of priesthood, there are those who keep this in their continual prayers, knowing that with God, all things are possible.

    Mary

Leave a Reply

